One Act Festival 2015 – Meet Playwright Stephen Sussman

We are less than 3 weeks away from our 5th Annual One Act Festival @ Rosedale Community Players so it is time to learn more about our playwrights.  We are producting 6 short plays, all by different playwrights, over 3 days.

There will be performances at 8 pm on Thursday, September 10th, Friday, September 11th and Saturday, September 12th as well as a matinee on Saturday, September 12th @ 2pm.  Tickets are $10 each so get your ticket now!

So, without further ado, let’s meet one of our playwrights, Stephen Sussman, writer of Stavros’ Chili, who comes to us from our neighbors at Birmingham Village Players.

 

sussmanHeadshot

Stephen Sussman

1)  What is your day job?

I am an architect with my own practice, started in 1992 in Birmingham, specializing in commercial office space.

2)  Why did you start writing plays?

I joined the [Birmingham Village Players] Playwrights@Work group in 2010, shortly after I appeared in their One-Act Festival.  They said they needed actors at their meetings to read scripts and I thought it would be fun.  After attending several meetings and reading the playwrights’ scripts I decided to try my hand at writing — loved it — and have been doing so ever since.

3)  Why did you write this play in particular?

I wanted to write something light-hearted and silly and this just came to me.  I love that the characters are true to their nature and are not really trying to be funny.  I think that’s what makes this goofy play work.

4)  What are you most looking forward to with this show?

Seeing director Chuck Goddeeris’ vision for this production and how the actors portray these characters.  This is my first submission to the Rosedale Community Players One Act Festival and I am very excited about being part of it!

5)  What’s next for you in terms of playwriting?
I have just written a new one-act comedy that I look forward to being produced, and in the meantime I am submitting some of my works to various festivals and theaters.  I hope to get further opportunities to have my plays performed on stage.  Having actors speak the words you write on-stage is an exhilarating experience!
Leave a Reply

