One Act Festival 2015 – Meet Playwright Jennifer Bindeman

The 5th Annual One Act Festival @ Rosedale Community Players opens in just under 2 weeks now so it’s time for our 2nd installment of Meet the Playwright!

So, without further ado, let’s meet Jennifer Leigh Bindeman, writer of Bump, a veteran playwright at RCP who has been a member for years.

 

1)  What is your day job?

I work as a therapist in an outpatient clinic in Baltimore, MD working with adults with chronic mental illness.

2)  Why did you start writing plays?

I started writing one acts in college when I took a playwriting class, and people even liked some of them. Neat.

3)  Why did you write this play in particular?

Cause it had been a while since I was in the One Act Festival so I figured you all wanted new material.  🙂  This issue of being childless by choice is a prevalent one in my life. I get a bunch of questions about wanting kids “someday” and even now and still told smugly that I will “change my mind” because “it’s different when it’s yours”.

4)  What are you most looking forward to with this show?

I’m hopeful that conversation will be sparked after the lights come back up…

5)  What’s next for you in terms of playwriting?

I have a few ideas – some issue plays and some not.

 

Remember, there will be performances at 8 pm on Thursday, September 10th, Friday, September 11th and Saturday, September 12th as well as a matinee on Saturday, September 12th @ 2pm.  Tickets are $10 each so get your ticket now!
Leave a Reply

