One Act Festival 2015 – Meet Playwright Tony Targan

We are in the home stretch of preparations for the 5th Annual One Act Festival @ Rosedale Community Players.  Everyone is refreshed from their Labor Day weekend and we are hosting an open dress rehearsal this evening (Tuesday, September 8th) before we open on Thursday night.

We have a diverse set of shows, leading off with a very unique look at relationships in Thought Bubbles, which is written by Tony Targan.  Tony is no stranger to our One Act Festival as he wrote and directed his piece Singchronicity in last year’s edition as well as starred in The Wager, written by Lance Alan.  Let’s learn more about him.

Lance Alan (left) and Tony Targan (right) in The Wager (2013)

 

1)  What is your day job?

I’m in-house counsel for ProQuest, a technology company that provides research data and software to libraries.

2)  Why did you start writing plays?

I’ve been inspired by my father, Barry Targan, who is an accomplished author.  I’ve written a lot of non-fiction for Michigan Runner magazine and ESPN.com, and I have my own theater blog (Playing The Barn).  Short plays seemed like a good entry into fiction, which is much harder.

3)  Why did you write this play in particular?

I wrote Thought Bubbles because I think it’s interesting to contrast what people say and what they think.  We all have that inner voice that represents our deepest wants and needs, but as we age, we tend to behave in ways that society expects, rather than being true to ourselves.  Sometimes it’s hard to “listen” to yourself.  I also wanted to capture the complexities of relationships in the Internet age, particularly for people who have been off the dating grid for awhile.  (Luckily, I’ve been married for 30 years, so this is all pure fiction, although I do happen to share many of the same interests as William, the character I play.)

4)  What are you most looking forward to with this show?

The audience’s reaction.  In my humble opinion, this is a really funny play and I can’t wait to hear people laugh.

5)  What’s next for you in terms of playwriting?

I’m working on another one-act, an absurdist corporate comedy tentatively titled There’s No Y in Business.  I would also like to start a writer’s club to compare notes with fellow playwrights and perform workshops of our works-in-progress.

Remember, there will be performances at 8 pm on Thursday, September 10th, Friday, September 11th and Saturday, September 12th as well as a matinee on Saturday, September 12th @ 2 pm.  RCP features cabaret-style assigned seating so reserve your seats today for the low cost of $10 each!
Leave a Reply

